Advertisement for Summer Internship Programme 2016

NIT, Rourkela has launched a Summer Internship Programme with an objective to encourage ambitious bright B.Tech. as well as B.Sc. and M.Sc. students of different Institutes in India other than NIT, Rourkela to pursue an innovative research and development project under the guidance of NIT faculties. The summer fellow will register at NIT, Rourkela for whom there will be no institute registration fees. The Institute is pleased to provide 50 nos. of Summer Fellowships as follows.

The fellowship will cover the following:
(a) A gross fellowship of Rs.3500/-, for a period of two months will be provided to those, who stay in NITR hostels for partial support for their food **.
(b) Free Accommodation in the NIT Halls of Residences.
(c) Laboratory and Library Facilities.
(d) Medical Facilities (Consultation with doctor at Institute Dispensary)
  The fellowship work can be done in a period of two months between 16th of May to 15th of July, 2016. The time can be extended, but not the hostel accommodation.


Any B.Tech.,B.Arch., B.Sc or M.Sc. student with a good academic record who has completed 2 or 3 years of study toward engineering or science degree, MA in Development Studies (1st year), MBA (1st year) may apply for this fellowship.

 How to Apply

Interested students need to complete the online application form before 28 March (Monday). The details will appear in the institute website. NIT, Rourkela (


List of fellows and their supervisors will be announced on the website by 11th April 2016. Applicants will have to check the website in regular intervals for SIP-2015 updates. As we will put the selection list and joining procedure on the website, no phone calls shall be entertained. Shortlisted candidates will be intimated through e-mail for submitting the hard copies of application form and relevant documents to:

Prof. Anindya Basu
Chairman Summer Internship
Department of Metallurgical & Materials Engineering
National Institute of Technology National Institute of Technology
Rourkela, Odisha
PIN: 769008
The fellowship is available in the following departments.
1 BM:Biotechnology & Medical Engineering
2 CE:Civil Engineering
3 CH:Chemical Engineering
4 CR:Ceramic Engineering
5 CS:Computer Science & Engineering
6 CY:Chemistry
7 EC:Electronics & Communication Engineering
8 EE:Electrical Engineering
9 ER:Earth and Atmospheric Sciences
10 FT:Food Processing Engineering
11 HS:Humanities & Social Sciences
12 ID:Industrial Design
13 LS:Life Science
14 MA:Mathematics
15 ME:Mechanical Engineering
16 MM:Metallurgical & Materials Engineering
17 MN:Mining Engineering
18 PA:Planning & Architecture
19 PH:Physics
20 SM:School of Management
** Approximate food cost at NIT Rourkela Hostel : Rs. 2790/- per month.
Copyright © 2016 National Institute of Technology Rourkela. All rights reserved.
Powered By : Office Automation Cell, NIT Rourkela